Friday, July 13, 2012

Follow Along!


Would you like to follow my race on Sunday? Really? Awesome! Just make sure you get some sleep somewhere in the middle. It's going to be a long day for me here in Zurich, which could mean a long night for those of you back home.


As for online options go, ironmanlive.com is the official site for timing-chip updates and pace information. I'll be racing under bib #1581. For color commentary, follow Kristine on Twitter; she'll be tweeting photos and updates throughout the race!

Ironman Switzerland begins at 7 o'clock in the morning on Sunday, July 15. For friends and family back home, there's a six and nine-hour timezone difference versus the east and west coasts, respectively.

The forecast for Sunday includes a little bit of everything: cooler temperatures, patchy sun, scattered showers and a bit of wind. Rain during the swim or run is no problem, but I'm definitely hoping for dry roads while I'm on the bike.

SWIM START:

7am ZRH Sunday / 1am EST Sunday / 10pm PST Saturday
I've been trying to get a feel for my swim fitness this week and can't quite put a finger on it. I definitely think I will be faster than I was at St. George, but that's a given considering the atrocious conditions there. I'd like to be in the low 50's. If I could be out of transition before the 60-minute mark, I'll be completely satisfied.

BIKE START:

8am ZRH / 2am EST / 11pm PST
I pre-rode the bike course yesterday, but again, I'm having trouble estimating my fitness in this regard. I felt fantastic back home, but the week has been rough on my legs so far. It's a fast, flat course with a few steep, grinding climbs sprinkled throughout. I'm going to be conservative and target 5.5 hours for this leg (2:45 per lap).

RUN START:

1-2pm ZRH / 7-8am EST / 4-5am PST
The run will be such an enormous question-mark for me this weekend. My IT and hamstring have been a problem for the better part of two months now, and I haven't done a lick of running since mid-June. I'm going to try and hold a steady, even pace for as long as I can... and then walk the rest. This leg could take anywhere from four to six (or more) hours.

EARLIEST FINISH:

5pm ZRH / 11am EST / 8am PST
With this bum leg, I'll be thrilled to finish under twelve hours. If I get out onto the course and the leg's not so much an issue, who knows what could happen? Sub-11 could definitely be possible.